John Petropoulos Leadership Award

The JPMF – in partnership with the Calgary Police Service (CPS) – gives out the John Petropoulos Leadership Award on an annual basis.

The award is given to one CPS constable from District 6 (where John Petropoulos worked as a constable), as well as a constable in District 1 each year. It recognizes a recipient who displays those attributes that John himself demonstrated – integrity, dedication to police work, commitment to excellence, courage and honour. The award includes a cash prize and a stay at a luxury hotel.

“Police work is stressful and it can be difficult for police officers to maintain a balance between work and home life,” said JPMF Managing Director Ian Wilson. “We hope this prize offers an opportunity for the recipient to enjoy a getaway with loved ones. It’s just another way that we can give back to the policing community John was a part of.” Added Wilson: “Many thanks to the Calgary Police Service. The commitment to maintain a legacy for John is greatly appreciated.”

Support this Award

If you would like to support this award, you can donate online or mail a financial or in-kind contribution to:

Attention: John Petropoulos Leadership AwardJP_LeaderAward

John Petropoulos Memorial Fund

#347, 440 – 10816 Macleod Trail SE

Calgary, Alberta, Canada T2J 5N8

The John Petropoulos Memorial Fund is a registered Canadian charity and charitable tax receipts are available.

  • Award Winners

    • 2019: Amanda Tanasichuk
    • 2019: Gene Newcombe
    • 2017: Ian Vernon
    • 2017: Graham Ernst
    • 2016: Jon Odland
    • 2016: Shannon Kelly
    • 2015: Stacey McKinnon
    • 2015: Dave Stewart
    • 2014: Julia Howe
    • 2014: Karen MacLeod
    • 2013: Quentin Blindenbach
    • 2012: Murray Karakochuk
    • 2011: Chad Remus
    • 2010: Greg Blades
    • 2009: Chris Ogwal
    • 2008: Lee Wayne
    • 2007: Rob McFadyen
    • 2006: Kevin Zeh
    • 2005: Mike Baker
    • 2004: Monty Malcolm
    • 2003: Ernie Perry
    • 2002: Scott Campbell
    • 2001: Lillian Hall
    Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!